Skip to main content

Institute for Computing

Creating a culture of ethical computing at Doane University that affords integrity, innovation and transformation.

The Doane University Institute for Computing provides services and resources for students, faculty, staff and alumni from all disciplines, departments and offices across the university who are applying computing to solve problems.

Some of the many areas that fall under the computing umbrella supported by the Institute include business intelligence, data analytics, digital humanities, empirical research, ethical computing, geographic information systems, machine learning/AI, computational science, and high-performance and high-throughput computing.

The Institute supports and connects members of the Doane community who are using computing to transform data into information used to solve problems through two centers.


The Institute is overseen by a faculty Board of Directors who consult with alumni, corporate partners and students.  Current members of the faculty Board of Directors include:

  • David Clevette, Chemistry

  • Erin Doyle, Biology

  • Tessa Durham Brooks, Biology

  • Dan Clanton, Philosophy and Religious Studies

  • Alec Engebretson, Computing (Director of the Institute)

  • Kari Gentzler, Sociology

  • Peggy Hart, Mathematics and Data Analytics (Director of the CCC)

  • Mohammad Hasan, Economics

  • Amanda Irions, Communications

  • Mark Meysenburg, Computing (Director of the CCLA)

  • Teresa Perkins, Education

  • Russ Souchek, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences

  • Cale Stolle, Engineering

  • Kris Williams, Mathematics and Data Analytics

For more information about the Institute or to get involved, contact any member of the Board or send an email to [email protected].