Skip to main content
Important COVID-19 Information

For all University updates and resources regarding COVID-19, please visit

Board of Trustees

John Allbery '80
Elected 2018
Independent Corporate Director
Denver, CO
Drew Bagley
Elected 2016
Chair of BOT Technology and Innovation Committee
Principal Consultant, Flywheel Education
Orlando, FL
Richard A. Bartlett '88
Elected 2007
Chair, Technology and Innovation Committee
Principal & Co Chairman Lone Peak Capital and Chairman, CD2 Learning LLC
Overland Park, KS
Patrick E. Beans '79
Elected 2007
Amandla, LLC

Lincoln, NE

Bruce Berglund '88
Elected 2019
Founder and President, Donor By Design (DBD Group)

Palatine, IL


Ann Songster Cahill '72
Elected 2011
Educator & Community Philanthropist

St. Louis, MO
Donald M. Campbell '61
Elected 2011
Partners for Growth Managers

San Francisco, CA
Barbara R. Cole M.D. '63
Elected 2008
(Retired) Director of Pediatric Nephrology
Mount Pleasant, SC
Kenneth E. Fridrich '59
Elected 1969
(Retired) Managing Director, Marketing-Pension Services,
The Principal Financial Group
Omaha, NE
Susan Fritz Ph.D.
Elected 2017-19; 2020-
Chair, Building and Grounds Committee
(Retired) Emerita Executive Vice President and Provost, Dean of the Graduate College
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Crete, NE

Toni Ganzel M.D.
Elected 2005
Chair, Academic Affairs Committee
Dean, School of Medicine
Professor of Surgery and Otolaryngology,
University of Louisville School of Medicine

Louisville, KY

Richard C. "Rick" Gibson '57
Elected 1998
Chair, Advancement Committee
CEO, Agro International Inc.
Council Bluffs, IA
Kim Heier '87, '05A
Elected 2017
Chair, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
Former Vice President for Student Leadership, Doane College

Sedona, AZ
Dick Held '70 
Elected 2007
Real Estate Investor
Los Angeles, CA

Jane Renner Hood Ph.D. '66
Elected 2011
(Retired) Executive Director of the Nebraska Humanities Council
Lincoln, NE

Daniel L. Jackman '89 (Vice Chair)
Elected 2006
Chair, Audit and Business Committee
Director, BDA International Pte Ltd.

Troy Kanter '90
Elected 2005-2008, 2009-
Chair, Enrollment Services Committee
Private Investor, Former President, Kenexa, Inc.
Lincoln, NE
Reverend Jim Keck
Elected 2011
Sr. Minister, 1st Plymouth Congregational Church (UCC)

Lincoln, NE

Jody King '85
Elected 2020
Vice President and Director of Financial Planning, Fiduciary Trust Company

Beverly, MA

Lonnie Mahrt ’86
Elected 2018
(Retired) Senior Vice President, Head of Customer Communications Management, CSG

Fremont, NE
Allen Moore '73 
Elected 2016
Chair, Investment Committee
(Retired) President/Investment Consultant
Smith Hayes Financial Services Corporation

Lincoln, NE
Carrie Morton '98
Elected 2019
Principal Financial Group

Waukee, IA
Mark Mulkey M.D. '82
Elected 2017
Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon
Mason City Clinic

Mason City, IA
Bill Pallett Ph.D. '71
Elected 2018
(Retired) President, The Individual Development and Educational Assessment Center (IDEA)

Manhattan, KS
Allison Petersen '78 (Secretary)
Elected 1982-1994, 2004-

Walton, NE
Enrique E. Sanchez '74
Elected 2005
(Retired) Executive Manager, Purchasing, Warehousing, and Inventories
Division of the Panama Canal Authority
Rep. de Panama
Paul Schelstraete, J.D. '70 (Chair)
Elected 2007 
President, City Bank and Trust Co.
Crete, NE
Dick shoemaker

Dick Shoemaker '72
Elected 2022
Pinpoint Holdings
Cambridge, NE

Jill Smith,  J.D '74
Elected 1997
(Retired) General Counsel, Mayo Clinic
Eden Prairie, MN
Tony Sorrentino J.D.
Elected 2016
Chair, Governance and Nominations Committee
General Counsel, Silverstone Group
Omaha, NE
betsy tonninges

Betsy Tonniges Ed.D. '06, '08E, '11E
Elected 2022
Alumni Council Representative
Primrose of Lincoln Wilderness Hills

Lincoln, NE 

Amy Vertin M.D. '95 
Elected 2015
Chair, Student Affairs Committee
Emergency Department Medical Director
Crete Area Medical Center

Crete, NE 


The Board of Trustees meet three times a year with meetings occurring in the Fall, Winter, and Spring.